Remember this one?

For those of you who checked my blog back in November – I made a card for my sister’s engagement.  It was really fun and easy to make so I decided to provide you with a mini ‘tutorial’ so that you could learn how to make it at home!

First I cut out the paper for my three layers – my red for the card, chocolate chip (as this brown is called…yuuuumm) for the background and caramel for the front.

Next, I punched all the corners of the caramel and chocolate chip cardstock for that look that I just love!  Using my basic blank ink, I stamped my bride and groom image.

Using my versamark pen I coloured where I wanted to put clear embossing powder for the cool shiny effect.  I then heat embossed the image (if you check out my earlier post, you will see that I was just playing around and had no idea how to use the pen – I like what I discovered!).

I used my fabulous scallop circle punch to make the brown background for my heart image.  Using my coluzzle (super easy to use, with lots of different sizes to choose from – a great deal for $24!) I made the circle in the caramel on which I then stamped the heart (using my versamark pen) and added red embossing powder to it and heated it.

The chocolate chip grosgrain ribbon is my favourite!  I absolutely HAD to use it!  I trimmed it and attached it behind the caramel cardstock with glue dots.  I then attached the heart to the scallop circle with a couple dimensionals to give it that “pop up” effect and a glue dot to attach it to the ribbon.

And voilà!  Now it’s your turn! 🙂  If you want to email me pictures of your creations I can post them here 🙂

And for those of you curious to know why I am posting this tutorial now…well, aside from deciding it would be neat to give a step by step tutorial on how to make a card, my sister got married yesterday!!!  😀  It was an intimate outdoor wedding (we totally lucked out with the weather!  No rain in Vancouver in February – lucky I know!) and then we had a really nice dinner – all at Stanley Park.  She was beautiful and I am so happy for them – she found a great guy.  I had a great time and I fell in love with her new nephew who is almost three and super adorable (and sat so well at the dinner!).  Gotta love those cuties.  Hope you all had a great weekend too!  I will post the wedding card I made for her soon 🙂

About craftingfun

I am a French immersion science teacher who LOVES crafting! I started with scrapbooking and am now addicted to anything to do with paper. This is where I share what I've made and hopefully inspire you to do the same. If you have any questions or would like to order any SU! products or cards, please feel free to contact me!
This entry was posted in Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

