Big Shot and Babies!

Say what!?!  I know I know but I can explain – they go together because I LOVE them both, they are both super cute, and making cards and projects for babies is so much easier using the Big Shot!
Now that the title makes a little more sense, here is the proof!
The first is a card I made for a friend of mine who is expecting her very first baby in May!!!  She is an absolute sweetheart and I can’t wait to see her little one!

DSC05533 DSC05542
The second card is for a very close family friend that I have known forever and who already has a super cute little girl.  I am sure the next one will be just as adorable 🙂  I also decided to make her a little coaster album, aka squash book, so that she can carry pictures around of both her cuties in her purse.  It’s the miniest of scrapbooks you have ever seen!  And they are so easy and quick to make!  So for those of you lament that you never have the time to scrapbook or who would love to make a personal and thoughtful gift to someone (be it baby or anything else), then this is the project for you!  I will be having a class on how to make this soon (and if you are interested in doing it by yourself at home, then check out the tutorial on splitcoast stampers – which if you haven’t checked out, I recommend you do.  Just be warned that you may spend a lot of time on their site!  The author, Beate Johns is amazing!)

This is how I decorated the cover and what the inside looked like before I added the extras:

DSC05536 DSC05535

The final product looked like this:

DSC05590FYI:  the brown squares are where she will get to add pictures and I left some triangles blank in case she has smaller pictures she wants to add or anything else to personalize it a little more.  DSC05587 DSC05588

If you are curious about the colours and stamps I used then keep reading!  The stamp set is the one I picked to have in my demonstrator starter kit (and has since been retired) Bundled in Love.  Now, unfortunately you can no longer buy this one, but there is good news!  If you want to use mine, all you have to do is come to crop night!  If you want to have a super cute baby set of your own then you are in luck as well!  If you check out the spring and summer catalogue (page 66 and 67) there are more choices available right now:  Nursery Necessities is super cute and even has matching decor elements if you want to decorate a nursery room, Cute and Cuddly – well the name kind of says it all, and a super fun one is Zoofari – again, you can guess before you even see it that it is going to have some cute animals 😛 I also used the stamps from the awesome Love you Much bundle with the matching heart punch.  The ‘Joy’ was done with my Big Shot 🙂

DSC05586

 

As for colours, when doing things for babies I like to use the colours from the soft subtles colour family.  For the cards and squash book I have pink pirouette (that’s an in colour that is what I consider to be ‘subtle’) or pretty in pink, mellow moss, chocolate chip (of course!), and barely banana.  I stamped using my markers.  I don’t have all the stamp pads yet (and I won’t for a while yet – there are so many things on my wish list first) so I use my markers.  I think they are great because they are so versatile!  Not only do I have every colour (you can buy them separately too if you like, or join the marker club to get the whole set for FREE) but I can also use several different colours on one stamp!  How cool is that!?!

If you are just starting out scrapbooking/cardmaking and don’t know where to start, Stampin’ Up has some great kits (called simply scrappin’) that come with coordinating paper, stickers, borders, and even a picture with some sample pages to get you started.  There is one kit for baby boys (Rock-a-Bye Boy) and another one for girls (Rock-a-Bye Girl).  Both are super cute – but don’t take my word for it, check it out for yourself! (Remember to put me as your demo to get better deals!  Or you can always go to my SU! website and shop from there 😀 )

About craftingfun

I am a French immersion science teacher who LOVES crafting! I started with scrapbooking and am now addicted to anything to do with paper. This is where I share what I've made and hopefully inspire you to do the same. If you have any questions or would like to order any SU! products or cards, please feel free to contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

