Long time no post!

Even though I am currently on spring break, life has been pretty busy lately.  My sister just had a major surgery so I have been over at my parents’ helping out with her two super adorable kids and then visiting her.  Not much time left for crafting or blogging!  I did have my technique class yesterday and we made some very nice projects!  Since I started with scrapbooking, but also love card-making, we did both in our class – with some neat techniques too!

I had a general ‘sample’ card but I encouraged Claudia to go her own way – and she rocked!  The first ones are I made, and on the next one Claudia made.  Between the two of us we created two beautiful cards with decorated insides too!  IMG_0754IMG_0753 I just LOVE the flowers!!!  Embrace Life is a fabulous set 🙂

IMG_0549IMG_0550Another club member made this pretty card:DSC05628 by Triffini I just love how you can start with an idea/sample card and come up with different ways to make the card ‘yours’.  Variety and creativity are awesome!

When I was thinking about how I could incorporate scrapbooking ideas into the class, I thought about what I would want to learn and make.  I played around with a few different possibilities.  I figured it would be cool to show you my though (aka playing) process!

I started off with the in-colours for this year (love them and don’t want them to go!).
I picked pacific point and baja breeze to start – why? IMG_0508 Because I figured that the most versatile and usable colours for people would be something that they could put to pictures that have water or sky in them! Hopefully that reasoning applies 🙂

IMG_0509

Next came the choice between corner punches.  I think both the tag corner and ticket corner are great (and if I had the corner rounder it would make the decision that much harder!) and hard to choose between.  The nice thing is that you can always punch with the ticket corner first and then change your mind (but not vice versa!)IMG_0510

Well, I picked the tag corner because last time I did a 6×6 page I used the ticket corner (whatever works to help me decide right!?!  I often use my consultant, aka my hubby, to help me decide but he was busy watching How I Met Your Mother :P)

Looking at the two colours with a picture, I think it’s missing a little something – so why not add another colour? And with the way Stampin’ Up! co-ordinates everything – making life super easy! – I picked kiwi kiss. I think it really adds to the page. Don’t you? IMG_0525IMG_0527IMG_0528

The next thing I played around with was using the crop-a-dile and my jumbo eyelets – I love them!  They make pages look awesome!  At first glance, the crop-a-dile looks pretty intimidating – and somewhat like a torture device!  Once you learn how to use it, you will never go back to trying to set eyelets with a setter and hammer.  IMG_0531

With the eyelets you can either leave them as is, or add ribbon – in this case I am trying out, of course, chocolate chip ribbon!  IMG_0757

IMG_0516Once done, you can either use the 6×6 in a 6×6 album, add it to a 12×12, or whatever size you choose to use!  Here are some of my ideas when trying it out on a 12×12 page: IMG_0517IMG_0518 IMG_0758

Well I hope that I made up for neglecting my blog the past few days and that you enjoyed seeing the cards and scrapbook page (great for travels or anything with blues or greens in the picture!) that we made at our class yesterday.  You are always more than welcome to join us as a drop in or as a club member – we would love to have you!  One of the great things about it is that you get to have fun doing something you love with other people who love it too!  The enthusiasm, energy, and inspiration are fantastic!   😀  And for those of you enjoying your craft at home – enjoy!  I hope I have inspired you to try something new 😛  Feel free to send me photos if you would like to share your ideas to inspire others 🙂

About craftingfun

I am a French immersion science teacher who LOVES crafting! I started with scrapbooking and am now addicted to anything to do with paper. This is where I share what I've made and hopefully inspire you to do the same. If you have any questions or would like to order any SU! products or cards, please feel free to contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

