Faux Embossing with Scenic Season!

Oh my GOODness!!!  I knew that I loved trees and nature…but who knew that playing with a tree stamp and an awesome new technique could be SO MUCH FUN!?!

As you can see by the number of cards I made in one sitting with this stamp, I was having a good time 🙂  I tried something a little different each time to keep things interesting and to share with you!

Here are four of the cards all together and then close up so you can see the slight changes.

IMG_1091

 

This is the very first one I made using Not Quite Navy classic ink and Whisper White craft ink (same as the colours of the card stock – love the easy coordination!)

IMG_1093
First I stamped the trees in the Not Quite Navy classic ink.

Next, using my stamp-a-ma-jig (funny name for a tool that helps you line your images up so they are always EXACTLY where you want them) I stamped the trees again, this time in white, but lining them up so that they were SLIGHTLY off, creating that gorgeous shading effect!  This makes your images look like they have been embossed!   Now you see why it’s called “Faux Embossing”!

IMG_1094

The second card I made I tried what the actual tutorial I found here said to do, which is to stamp in the white ink first, heat to dry, and then stamp on top (Not Quite Navy again in this case).  Knowing me and my patience, you can probably guess that I didn’t heat to dry (or wait very long either) before I added the Not Quite Navy image on top.  I am sure it would have looked different if I had, but you can kind of see there is a slight difference (i.e. it’s less white :P)

IMG_1092

Once I used the Chocolate Chip ribbon (love it!) on this card, I got to thinking – why not try a darker ink for the shading – i.e. Chocolate Chip!? Which leads us to the third card (also a different card fold, with an Old Olive layer, and rhinestone brads for a little extra pizzaz)

IMG_1099

(sorry the quality of this photo isn’t as good)

And the fourth card, I just HAD to try silver heat embossing.  I have seen other cards use it, and I have always wanted to try it out.  If you have never done heat embossing before you HAVE to try it.  It’s just so satisfying – especially with silver!

IMG_1095

Did you notice the colour of the card base?  Yup!  It’s my FAVOURITE in-colour, Rich Razzleberry!!!

I hope you had a great weekend and that next time you can join us at our monthly technique class!  Stay tuned for more pictures from the class and an AWESOME class that I am offering this month!  To find out about all my upcoming events and great deals offered by Stampin’ Up! be sure to sign up for my monthly newsletter!

Have a great day,

Mitra

About craftingfun

I am a French immersion science teacher who LOVES crafting! I started with scrapbooking and am now addicted to anything to do with paper. This is where I share what I've made and hopefully inspire you to do the same. If you have any questions or would like to order any SU! products or cards, please feel free to contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

