Another Tulipe Tuesday!

Well, I had so much fun coming up with my very own stencil last week (and I hope you made your own too!) and using it to make super simple and easy cards with it.

This week I will show you how to use that same stencil using the Tulipe Die (or any other SU! stencil you might have) with stencil paste to create a beautiful textured image!

I got the idea from Kimberly (she has a video tutorial that you can check out if you’d like) and thought I would share it with you!

Here’s what you need to do this project:

a stencil (or to make your own, see my previous post HERE)

stencil paste – you can get some from your local craft store

popsicle stick/knife (something to spread your stencil paste with)

a surface to decorate (a scrapbook, a picture frame, a vase…)

stencil adhesive/tape

Step 1: adhere your stencil to your material ( I didn’t have stencil paste so I used tape – which I DON’T recommend.  As you can see, my image was not as crisp as I would have liked.  Tape was fine for when I made my cards HERE but sometimes I had a few blurs).

IMG_0808 - Copy

*If you want to have your image centered, here are my doodles for centering my image on a 6×6 album.  I kept the 2″ from the right and left to be centered but then made it a little higher than the 1 1/4″.

IMG_0819

Step 2: follow the instructions on your stencil paste.  I had to knead mine, squeeze it out, and then spread it (I used a knife).

Step 3: remove stencil carefully and straight up (be sure to wash your stencil and knife to remove the paste)

IMG_0818

Step 4: let paste dry

I added some ribbon to add a little something.  I think that next time I would plan my decorating (i.e. ribbon, any extra embellishments) before creating my image

IMG_0826

ribbon low

IMG_0821

or ribbon in the middle!

I hope you have fun playing with this technique!

Have a fabulous day!

Mitra

About craftingfun

I am a French immersion science teacher who LOVES crafting! I started with scrapbooking and am now addicted to anything to do with paper. This is where I share what I've made and hopefully inspire you to do the same. If you have any questions or would like to order any SU! products or cards, please feel free to contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

