Takin’ It to the Top

I was busy today and made three cards!  I have seen and admired Gretchen Barron’s Takin’ It to the Top demo of taking a simple card and dressing it up by adding embellishments, layers, texture, and more.  Check out her cards for this week here!

So that was my goal and to get there I had fun playing with ColourQ’s colour combo for the week and Card Patterns’ sketch:

My first card is quick and easy – using punches to make it so!  (scallop border, decorative label and oval).  The second card’s border was created with the ornament punch and this time I used the word window and modern label punch for the sentiment.  Some Coluzzle ovals along with a Big Shot oval to make the layers closer together to add a centre piece and to go with the background dsp, checkers using a texture plate.

Take three!  This time I sponged the edges of the ornament punches with Melon Mambo and curled up the edges of two out of the four using a bone folder

I had so much fun using my flowers on this card and was so happy with the results  that I decided to use them again!  This time I added a little extra detail by starting to sponge on the tips and making them slightly darker than the centres.  I also sponged the edges of the white cardstock strip and word window.  I love rhinestones and couldn’t resist adding two little ‘old olive’ ones 🙂

This isn’t my final version though – I decided to add an Old Olive square with sponged edges underneath the flower.

Here they are – all together!

I had a great time making these cards – it was really neat to see what I could come up with.  I totally recommend giving this a try!  I have to confess that I actually started with the middle card and did the first one last!  (and my favourite is the third one)  No one said you had to do them in any particular order!

Have a great day!

About craftingfun

I am a French immersion science teacher who LOVES crafting! I started with scrapbooking and am now addicted to anything to do with paper. This is where I share what I've made and hopefully inspire you to do the same. If you have any questions or would like to order any SU! products or cards, please feel free to contact me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Takin’ It to the Top

  1. Tracy says:

    So cute! Love the trio of cards you made in these bright colors. So glad that you could play along with us this week on Card Patterns!

  2. ~amy~ says:

    Such a fun set of cards…great colors! Thanks for playing with us at Card Patterns!

  3. Hi Mitra, What a lovely trio of cards. thanks for playing at the ColourQ again this week.

  4. Great cards! Thanks for playing at CQC! 🙂

Leave a Reply

